The ASCE San Francisco Section celebrated the wide array of outstanding work being done throughout the Section on September 23rd at our Annual Meeting and Awards Gala. This year’s event took place via Zoom. Outstanding Project and Individual Awards were presented to deserving members.

Project Winners

Airports and Ports Project Crane Cove Park
Architectural Engineering Project Atlas 385 14th Street 
Bikeways and Trails Project Laton Sidewalk Improvements
Bridge Project Italian Bar Road Bridge over Redinger Lake (San Joaquin River) 
Community Improvement Project Matilda Torres High School
Construction Project Pardee Chemical Plant Chemical Feed Shafts
Energy Project  Zero-Emission Vehicles DC Fast Chargers
Environmental Engineering Project Seawater Intake Repairs, UCSC Long Marine Lab
Flood Management  Fresno Irrigation District, Central Canal Basin Project, Central and Hughes Avenues
Geotechnical Project UCSF Nancy Friend Pritzker Psychiatry Building 
Historical Renovation Project Claire Lilienthal Elementary School Ground Improvements
Parks and Recreation Project Sonoma Valley High School Athletic Field Renovation
Seismic Retrofit Project Marina Middle School Seismic Retrofit
Small Project  Outside Canal Bridge Replacement at Russell Avenue
Structural Engineering Project Fresno Canal Bridge Replacement at McKinley Avenue
Sustainable Engineering Project Creek Fire, Post Fire Runoff Erosion and Sediment Control Project
Transportation Project  SB I-680 HOV Lane Completion and Express Lane Conversion
Urban or Land Development Brooklyn Basin, Parcel F (Vista Estero and Paseo Estero)
Water Project  Lake Mendocino Forecast-Informed Reservoir Operations (FIRO) Final Viability Assessment (FVA)

Individual Awards

Outstanding Civil Engineer in the Public Sector Joseph Harrell
Outstanding Civil Engineer in the Private Sector Rami Selim
Outstanding Civil Engineer in Community Service Maxwell Armenta
Outstanding ASCE Section Officer Rupeet Malhorta
Outstanding YMF Officer Crystal Mena
Outstanding Younger Civil Engineer Seema Barua
Outstanding Branch Officer  Erin Dupree
Outstanding Faculty Advisor  Dr. Aly Tawfik
HJ Brunnier Jim Small