2017 ASCE Annual Meeting and Awards Gala

The ASCE San Francisco Section celebrated the wide array of outstanding work being done throughout the Section on September 14 at our Annual Meeting and Awards Gala. This year’s event took place in the historic Green Room inside the San Francisco War Memorial and Performing Arts Building. Outstanding Project and Individual Awards were presented to deserving members and the night was capped by the passing of the gavel from outgoing San Francisco Section President Lorraine Htoo to 2017-2018 Section President Elizabeth Bialek.



A list of honored individuals and projects is below and photos from the event can be viewed here.

Project Winners

1908 Shattuck Avenue Outstanding Structural Engineering Project Steven B. Tipping
Alameda Landing Outstanding Urban or Land Development Project Haze Rodgers, PE, GE
Aquatic Park Promenade Outstanding Parks and Recreation Project Liz Kimbrel, PE
Bridge Yard Seismic and Renovation Project Outstanding Historical Renovation Project Darlene K. Gee, PE
Chabot Dam Seismic Upgrade Outstanding Geotechnical Project Atta Yiadom
City of San Mateo WWTP Digester Gas to Biomethane for Fuel Outstanding Energy Project Brad B. Underwood
Comprehensive Large-Scale Wetland Creation Outstanding Airports & Ports Project Steven Allen
Freemark Abbey Winery Outstanding Seismic Retrofit Project David R. Cooper
Healdsburg Avenue Bridge over the Russian River Outstanding Bridge Project Doug Ries, PE
Inspiration Park Outstanding Community Improvement Project Scott Sehm
Interstate 80 / Yerba Buena Island Westbound Ramps Improvement Project Roadway Highway Project of the Year James N. Simon, PE, CCM
Jaguar Way/Windsor Road Bicycle and Pedestrian Improvements Project Outstanding Bikeways & Trials Elizabeth Ellis, P.E.
Marin County Civic Center Drive Circulation Improvements Project Outstanding Transportation Project Jasmine Cuffee, PE
Measure J & L Pavement Rehabilitation Project Outstanding Sustainable Engineering Project Don Greb P.E.
One Market Plaza Outstanding Architectural Engineering Mark Sarkisian, PE, SE
Orinda Water Treatment Plant Reliability and Maintenance Improvements – Shutdown and Electrical Improvements Outstanding Water/Wastewater Treatment Project Brett B. Margosian, P.E.
Quinten Luallen Hydroelectric Powerplant Outstanding Water Project Gregory Reichert
San Clemente Dam Removal and Carmel River Reroute Project Outstanding Environmental Engineering Project Theodore  Feldsher
Sears Point Wetland Restoration Project Outstanding Flood Management Project Tino B. Maestas, P.E.
Shell Martinez Refinery Marine Terminal, Wharf Seismic Strengthening Outstanding Construction Project William M. Bruin, P.E. (CA, OR, WA, LA, TX), M.ASCE (312054)
SMART Passenger Rail System Outstanding Transit Project Bill Gamlen
UCSC Coastal Science Campus and Coastal Biology Building Outstanding Small Project Michael D Kincaid, PE


Individual Awards

Aida Fairman Outstanding Civil Engineer in the Public Sector
David Horn Outstanding Civil Engineer in the Private Sector
Mark Weaver Outstanding Civil Engineer in Community Service Award
Chad Leege Outstanding Engineer in Legislative Activities
Melissa Blau Outstanding Section Officer Award
Grant Iwamoto Outstanding YMF Officer
Jenna Wong Outstanding Section Faculty Advisor Award
Matt Bowers Outstanding Younger Civil Engineer
Christopher Amaro Outstanding Civil Engineering Student
Ted Mooradian Lifetime achievement